As mania seems to be working on pet loyalty I thought I’d do some experiementing of my own last weekend.  It was as follows:

  1. Tame a pet
  2. Note the time
  3. Sit in a city without entering combat
  4. At loyalty level 2, note time
  5. Tame 2nd pet of the same type and level
  6. Note time
  7. Stay in combat as much as possible
  8. At loyalty level 2, note time
  9. Compare the 2 times to see what difference combat makes

I spent the whole weekend on step 3.  After 10hours and 12 minutes, I think that at least the first loyalty ding requires combat.  And even if not, it’s pretty clear that being in combat makes a huge difference.  I did take a break and stable the pet for another to at least make some progress, and it took less than 20min to get that one to loyalty level 2.

My new plan is to tame another pet, get to loyalty 2 and see how long it takes to get to 3 without any combat.  This time there will be a 3 hour time limit.

